Home » About Saragossa

About Saragossa

Zaragoza, (known in English as Saragossa) is the capital city of the province of Zaragoza and of the autonomous community of Aragon, Spain. Saragossa lies by the Ebro river and its tributaries, the Huerva and the Gállego.

Saragossa is the 5th largest city in Spain and is a perfect blend of modern and historic structures.  Renowned for its avant-garde architecture, Saragossa is also well appreciated for its culinary delights – Tapas being a very popular example.

The city is famous for its folklore, local cuisine, and landmarks such as the Basílica del Pilar, La Seo Cathedral and the Aljafería Palace. Together with La Seo and the Aljafería, several other buildings form part of the Mudéjar Architecture of Aragon which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

If you are seeking the Middle Eastern atmosphere visit the colorful Carmel Market where vendors sell exotic food products and cheap clothing or go to neighboring Nachalat Binyamin Pedestrian Mall, where artists present their homemade products every Tuesday and Friday.

In July 2003, UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, proclaimed “The White City”, the unique urban and historical fabric of Tel Aviv-Jaffa, as a World Cultural Heritage site. UNESCO recognized the special architectural qualities of the buildings, streets, squares and avenues of Tel Aviv. “The White City”, the world’s largest grouping of buildings in the International Style, also known as Bauhaus, was planned by the famous Scot, Sir Patrick Geddes. About 4,000 buildings were constructed in this area, beginning in the 1930’s until the establishment of the State of Israel.

Add Your Heading Text Here